Blue and white and not Christmas at all…

I grew up in a small Jewish village just outside
Toronto called Thornhill. I was sent to Jewish day school and as a result, all of my friends were Jewish. Sure, I knew what Christmas lights were and I saw Santa in malls all over the suburbs…I wasn’t allowed to have lights, or sit on Santa’s knee and I lived life pretty much “holiday” free until grade four when I had my first non-Jewish friend.
Of course we had Chanukah, played dreidel, lit candles, ate latkes – the whole bit – but it never even occurred to me that Christmas was at the same time. I thank everyone who cares about their Jewish and non-Christian friends who have coined the Christmas season as “holiday” time but let’s hit the egg nog and bacon and stop kidding ourselves – it’s Christmas!!!Tonight I have my first “holiday” party at Maro, the first of many “holiday” parties to come between now and December, its Christmas and we all know it – clap your hands.

Leave a Reply

